Fernando P. Bruno, MD, MPH, Named Science & Technology Policy Fellow | Touro College of Osteopathic Medicine

Dr. Bruno is one of the 284 highly qualified scientists and engineers who will work for a year as a Science & Technology Policy Fellow in federal agencies and convention offices. The US government benefits from the contributions of highly qualified scientists and engineers who learn firsthand about the design and implementation of federal policy.

“I am very honored to have received the AAAS S&T Fellowship,” said Dr. Bruno. “Scientific knowledge is essential to improve patient care. However, according to a study published in the Journal of the American Medical Association, it takes an average of 17 years for only 14 percent of new scientific discoveries to flow into daily clinical practice. I will work on health and science policy to identify the best strategies to ensure successful integration of evidence-based interventions into clinical and public health settings. This active role on the fast-moving political fronts will be unparalleled. “

For nearly half a century, the scholarship program has existed as part of the AAAS mission to advance science and serve society. The program aims to support evidence-based policymaking by harnessing the knowledge and analytical mindset of nature and engineering professionals and developing leaders for a strong American science and technology company. The fellows represent a wide range of disciplines, backgrounds and career levels.

The 2021-22 Fellowship Class is sponsored by AAAS, the Moore Foundation, and partner societies. Of the 284 fellows, 29 will serve in Congress, one in the Federal Judicial Center, and 254 – including one Roger Revelle Fellowship in Global Stewardship – in the executive branch of 19 federal agencies or departments.

“As the new director of the AAAS Science & Technology Policy Fellowships program and myself STPF alum, I am pleased to announce this year’s class of scientists and engineers who will bring their dedication and science-oriented perspectives to US federal politics wherever it is needed and appreciated, ”said STPF Director Rashada Alexander.

The Touro college and university system

Touro is a system of non-profit universities and vocational training institutions. Touro College was founded in 1970 primarily to enrich the Jewish heritage and serve the wider American and global community. Around 19,000 students are currently enrolled in the various schools and departments. Touro has 35 locations and locations in New York, California, Nevada, Illinois, Berlin, Jerusalem and Moscow. New York Medical College; Touro University of California and Touro University of Nevada; Touro University Worldwide and its Touro College Los Angeles Department; and the Hebrew Theological College in Skokie, Illinois are separately accredited institutions within the Touro College and University System. For more information, visit

The American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) is the world’s largest general scientific society and publisher of Science and Science Translational Medicine; Science signaling; a digital open access journal, Science Advances; Science immunology; and science robotics. AAAS was founded in 1848 and comprises more than 250 affiliated scientific societies and academies serving 10 million people.